Question & Answer
Why do you use whole flax seeds and not ground flax seeds in your oatmeal?
Our Better Oats products are made with whole flaxseed. We do know that many nutrition experts recommend ground flaxseed instead of whole flaxseed, as it is easier for the body to digest. Unfortunately, we have not located a suitable ground flaxseed option that will retain its freshness during the shelf life of our products and meet our high quality standards. We will continue to research possible options for adding ground flax to our oatmeal in the future.
Do your products contain any genetically modified ingredients?
We use the word natural to describe our Abundance brand in order to let our customers know that our cereals don’t contain artificial colors, preservatives or flavors. Our items also do not contain high fructose corn syrup, trans fat or hydrogenated oils. It’s possible that our products may contain genetically engineered derivatives. We assure you that we comply with all FDA requirements for labeling and claims. We’re also continually searching and reviewing ingredients that allow us to give families a better breakfast option while keeping our product prices affordable.
If you are looking for products without genetically engineered derivatives/GMO, please look for our Raw Pure & Simple Organic Multigrain Hot Cereals which include the flavors: Bare, Chai Spiced, Pomegranate and Cinnamon Plum Spiced.
How often does Better Oats have coupons available?
While we offer coupons periodically on our websites, offers are not unlimited and only available while supplies last. It’s one of the ways we keep our prices lower that our larger competitors. We suggest you check the special offer pages of your favorite MOM Brands® products to be notified when coupons are available to be downloaded.
Our primary method of offering consumers increased value remains keeping our products at everyday low prices. Check with your local stores for additional store offers or special discounts. We hope that you will continue to enjoy the everyday savings and quality of our products.
Where can I purchase Better Oats cereals in my community?
Visit our Store Locator and do a search in your neighborhood.
Click Here to visit the Store Locator.
How do I ask my favorite grocery store to carry Better Oats cereals?
Call or write to the manager at your favorite grocery store and request they carry Better Oats products.
How can I prepare Better Oats products on the stovetop?
Stovetop cooking instructions:
- STEP 1: To prepare our oatmeal on the stove top, bring water to a boil in a kettle
(1/2 to 2/3 cup water, depending on desired thickness).
- STEP 2: Turn the heat down to simmer and cook oatmeal for 90 seconds, stirring frequently.
- STEP 3: Remove from heat and let stand for 1-2 minutes before serving
Do you have any gluten free products?
Currently, Better Oats does not produce any gluten free oatmeal products. Gluten may be found in oats, even in very small amounts. Since oats are grown, stored, and transported in bulk, they may contain trace amounts of wheat, rye and barley. USDA grain standards allow a certain percentage of other grains to be present in the oats.
Are your Better Oats products Vegan?
All of our Better Oats items, which do not contain a dairy ingredient, are considered Vegetarian. At this time we do not specifically ask our suppliers if their ingredients are ‘Vegan’ and therefore cannot confirm this status.
Has my favorite Better Oats variety been discontinued?
Due to lack of consumer demand, the products shown below have been discontinued and are no longer available:
- Better Oats® MMM…Muffins Maple Streusel
- Better Oats® Mom’s Best Naturals Maple & Brown Sugar
- Better Oats® Mom’s Best Naturals Apples & Cinnamon
- Better Oats® Oat Revolution Raisin Spice
- Better Oats® Oat Revolution Maple Cream
- Better Oats® Oat Revolution Regular Instant
- Better Oats® Oat Revolution Cinnamon Roll
- Better Oats® Oat Heads Berry Blast
- Better Oats® Oat Heads Maple Syrup
What is the best way to store your cereal products?
We recommend that you keep our cereals in a cool, dry place.
Is it safe to eat your cereal when it has passed its ‘Best if Used By’ date?
Yes, it is safe, but since the flavor will change as the product ages, we recommend that you purchase a new package.
Are your cereal products Kosher certified?
Most of our cereal products are Kosher certified. If the product you are interested in is Kosher certified, its packaging will reflect its certification status and category. Kosher certifications may change over time, so the best way to determine a product’s Kosher status is to look at the front of the package. Our product packages will always reflect the most current information.
What is your allergen labeling policy?
We understand and share the concerns expressed by consumers who are affected by food allergies. Food Allergic consumers should rely on our package ingredient labels for the most accurate information on a product. If a product contains any of the FDA major eight allergens (egg, milk, peanut, tree nut, fish, shellfish, soy, and wheat) it will be clearly listed in bold print in the ingredient declaration on the Nutrition Facts Panel.
If we do make a product that contains any of these eight major allergens, all products made on the same production line would contain the same allergen or a full allergen tested and validated cleaning process would be performed between production runs.